Home

I will identify locations relevant to the play’s research and development, exploring music, sport, politics and conflict. I will visit Ravel’s home in Montfort-l’Amaury (pictured) where he wrote Bolero, and his burial place, in Levallois-Perret, as well as the Paris Opera where Bolero premiered in 1928.

The Zetra Stadium in Sarajevo, the ice stadium, houses a museum dedicated to the 1984 Winter Olympics and I will visit this and the Sarajevo War Museum as well as the Latin Bridge where Archduke Franz Ferdinand was assassinated in 1914 triggering the First World War. I will keep a blog of reflections on the research and the journeys I am making (makingbolero.wordpress.com). This will host images, video and writing and connect with Theatre Writing Partnership’s website. I will tweet about the journeys en route (#bolero).

When I return to Nottingham, I will work with material I have discovered on my journey and research Torvill and Dean’s relationship to the city. I will attempt to learn to ice skate and interview ice skaters about the way in which they perform on the ice. I will aim to arrive at a 17-minute reading of the play to the original version of Bolero by the end of the Making Tracks project to be shown as a work-in-progress with the intention of developing this into my next full-length play.

Leave a Reply

